Dairy Milk Oreo Mint + Peanut Caramel Crisp

Welcome back to Saccharine Quarantine, the place to be to see the tackiest of treats, the sleaziest of sweets, and the dirtiest of drinks be put under the conscientious and thought provoking scrutiny of yours truly, and I’m afraid it’s bad news today as we’re back in the wacky world of Cadbury, and unfortunately I’m not talking about the wonderful visitor attraction just off the A38 in Birmingham.
You may recall last time I talked about a Cadbury Dairy Milk variation here on SQ, things became a little heated and I may have gone on an unreasonable tirade about just how much I hated it and wished the whole confectionery world dead or something like that.
However I think it may be best for this sequel review just to wipe the slate clean and start afresh, as I finally get round to looking at the Dairy Milk Oreo Mint…

The first thing that took me by surprise is the size of the bar itself, I had no idea they had released these newer flavours in this format, perhaps not quite as surprising, however is that I found it wallowing in discount supermarket Heron Foods for just 29p or 5 for £1.
Let’s not dwell on the negativity however, this is the closest Cadbury have come to producing a mint chocolate Dairy Milk since the ill fated Mint Crisp that would no doubt be infinitely more entertaining to review.

20180603_200938.jpg

It looks like mint choc chip ice cream wrapped in chocolate…and tastes… just like mint choc chip ice cream wrapped in chocolate… it could be a lot worse, and by that I mean, it’s not unpleasant at all, infact it may just be a little bit nice.
The only thing I’d mention is that if this were a blind taste test I wouldn’t be able to figure out those biscuit pieces were Oreo in a month of Sundays, they contribute so little compared to the mint fondant that it could have been Thin Arrowroot in there and it probably wouldn’t have made a blind bit of difference.
Other than that minor niggle though, it’s alright, nothing special but not deserving of being tarnished with the same shitty brush as sister bar Oreo Peanut.

Just as a new product bonus feature I’ve also got my hands on a Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste Peanut Caramel Crisp, which is the longest title for a chocolate bar ever conceived, caused in part by the unnecessary sub-branding of “BIG TASTE” which in this example is ever so ironic as this weighs less than the Oreo Mint bar, it’s an impulse version of a range of big fat 300 gram bars that also includes Triple Chocolate SensationOreo Crunch and Toffee Whole Nut. I would say I will get to reviewing them one day but just to save the wait, the Triple Chocolate one is fantastically good, the Oreo Crunch is sickly and the Toffee Whole Nut one is shite.

20180603_203429.jpg
So to finish off my mini-review of the entire Big Taste range, here’s the Peanut Caramel Crisp that I’m not particularly looking forward to due to my well known dislike for peanuts in all forms. This was also found in the same shop as the Oreo Mint for the same price of just 29 pence, but let’s not judge a product by lack of sales or retail confidence, let’s just see how it tastes so we can all go home and forget about how many different shitty Dairy Milk variations they’re going to release in the next 5 years.

This one gets to pass, for the very simple reason that it contains peanuts and didn’t make me violently gag, I don’t think Mars will be recalling Snickers in response to this anytime soon but it’s a perfectly serviceable entry into the Cadbury portfolio and perhaps can work even better as a bar this size than as a massive block… well… perhaps not because it’s obviously a poor seller because… 29p… Heron Foods… oh dear.

 

Leave a comment